Faculty of Physics

The Faculty of Physics, University of Bucharest, has a highly trained teaching staff composed of 89 active teachers, 13 honorary professors, and 17 consulting professors. The active staff includes professors ("profesori"), associate professors ("conferentiari"), assistant professors ("lectori"), teaching assistants ("asistenti"), and junior teaching assistants ("preparatori"). Among these, 82 have earned their PhD degree in Physics from universities accross the country, or from various prestigious foreign universities, the other seven currently working toward their PhD degree, and being in various stages of completing of their thesis. After getting their PhD diploma, many young professors have enhanced their scientific carreers in postdoctoral stages, or other forms of scientific collaboration at universities accross Europe, U.S., Canada, and Japan.

The activities of teaching and scientific research are organized within the three departments:

  • Electricity&Magnetism, Solid-State Physics, Biophysics (formed by merging the former chairs of Electricity&Biophysics with Solid State Physics);
  • Theoretical physics&Mathematics, Optics, Lasers, and Plasma (formed by merging the former chairs of Theoretical physics& Mathematics with Optics, spectroscopy, lasers, and plasma);
  • Structure of Matter, Physics of the Earth, Atmospheric Physics, and Astrophysics (formed by merging the former chairs of Nuclear Physics with Mechanics, Molecular physics, Polymer physics, and Physics of the Earth).

Beginning with the 2005-2006 academic year, according to new European regulations, academic studies are structured on three cycles: Bachelor (First cycle), Master (Second cycle), and Doctorate (Third cycle). The total duration of all three cycles is 8 years.









Last updated at: January 03, 2013.